Biopic Abandoned


In an interview with IFC.com Film News, Didion comments on the Graham film:

Further thinking about “In Hollywood,” it seems to have been quite a few years since you’ve worked in film or television. What’s going on with your HBO biopic on newspaper maven Katharine Graham, and relatedly, did you have any trepidation about working in that industry again?
I have not clue one, because at this moment, I’m not working on it. I did it about three years ago, and it’s kind of in limbo at HBO. I think the last time I worked on it was over the summer. And no, basically, I needed the work. I like working in [the industry]. I took on the Katharine Graham project specifically because I wanted to go back to work. It was a project that was brought to me by ICM. HBO already wanted to do it.

Click here to read the full text.

UPDATE: On March 31st, 2009, Joan Didion said in this interview that plans for the movie have been abandoned. She had submitted a number of scripts before wearying of HBO’s delaying tactics, and so she walked out on the project. “They did not have the money,” Didion concluded.

Comments
2 Responses to “Biopic Abandoned”
  1. George says:

    I knew this would happen!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Graham) [Editor’s note: This is actually incorrect, she is no longer working on that film, see here] and a nonfiction book. Deadlines were […]



Leave a Reply

  • Visit Our New Site

  • Visit Our New Site

  • Visit Our New Site

  • Visit Our New Site

